Big Dreams Start Here.


Frequently Asked Questions
2017-18 RSCO Lottery

What is the Regional School Choice Office (RSCO)?
RSCO was created by the Connecticut Department of Education to assist families interested in learning about, and applying to, public school choice options in the Greater Hartford region.

What schools and programs are a part of RSCO?
Interdistrict Magnet Schools are located in and around Hartford. These public school options attract PK-12 applicants and are theme-based to support personalized learning.

The Hartford Region Open Choice Program offers students an opportunity to attend a public school outside of their hometown. Hartford students may attend a suburban, non-magnet public school.  Suburban students may attend a Hartford public school.

You may apply to magnet schools, the Open Choice Program, or to both programs via the RSCO lottery.

What is the RSCO lottery?
The computer-based method that places students who have submitted a complete, on-time RSCO lottery application. The Connecticut Department of Education is responsible for administering the RSCO lottery.

Why is a lottery conducted?
RSCO programming includes over 45 magnet schools and 29 participating Open Choice districts. However, applications outnumber seats available.

Who is eligible to apply to the lottery?
Students entering grades PK-12 and who reside in Connecticut at the time of application.

How do I apply to the lottery?
You must submit a new application each year, for each child, if you wish to be considered for the RSCO lottery. Online submission (through this website) is highly recommended. 

The on-time lottery application period generally starts in November and ends in late February. Late applications - which are placed at the end of on-time waitlists - are accepted online only in the spring, following the close of the on-time application period.

Image: FAQ's Prince Tech